> UOG Events home page > UOG News & Announcements home page

About Mathematics

College of Natural and Applied Sciences


Mathematics Program

 

Advisement Liaison:
Dr. Alicia C. Aguon
Tel: (671) 735-2837 
Email: chirikacj@kuentos.guam.net

 

The mathematics major and minor programs are designed to:

  • prepare secondary school mathematics teachers;
  • prepare students for other employment requiring the use of mathematics; and
  • provide an understanding of the fundamental quantitative considerations, symbolized mathematically, which underlie our mechanized society. 

Additional requirements for a mathematics major leading to a general secondary teaching credential are listed in the College of Education section. A student must declare a double major in Mathematics and Education for a secondary teaching degree. See sample schedule for math majors (DOWNLOAD MS Word).

 

MATHEMATICS MAJOR REQUIREMENTS

Total: 52 Credit Hours
Each mathematics major must complete studies with a cumulative GPA of 2.3 in the courses specified as required courses for the major.

  • Required Courses (43 credit hours): Either CS201 or 202, PH251, 252, MA203, 204, 205, 302, 341, 411, 421, 422 and any one of MA301, 361 or 375.
  • Electives (9 credit hours): A minimum of nine (9) credit hours of upper division Mathematics (MA) courses in addition to those already required.


MATHEMATICS MINOR REQUIREMENTS

Total: 28 Credit Hours

  • Required Courses (16 credit hours): MA203, 204, 205 and 302.
  • Electives (12 credit hours): A minimum of six (6) credit hours of upper division Mathematics (MA) courses in addition to MA302.

 

Faculty

Alicia C. Aguon
Office:  SC 108
Tel: 671-735-2837
Email: chirikacj@kuentos.guam.net

Grazyna Badowski
Office:  SC 201
Tel: 671-735-2840
Email: gbadowski@uguam.uog.edu

Tower Chen
Office:  SC 226
Tel: 671-735-2827
Email: tchen@uguam.uog.edu

Martin K. DeBeer
Office:  SC 106
Tel: 671-735-2830
Email: profesotm@yahoo.com

Steve Sun
Office:  WB #7
Tel: 671-735-2833ssun@uguam.uog.edu

Hideo Nagahashi
Office:  WB #5
Tel: 671-735-2788
Email:hnagahashi@uguam.uog.edu

Zoltan Szekely
Office:  WB #10
Tel: 671-735-2832 Email:zszekely@uguam.uog.edu

Yoshifumi Takenouchi
Office:  SC 202
Tel: 671-735-2828
Email:takenouchi@uguam.uog.edu

Henry Taijeron
Associate Dean
Office:  ALS 203
Tel: 671-735-2825/2826/2005 Email: htaijeron@yahoo.com

 

 

Staff

Teresita "Tessie" F. Mortera
Administrative Assistant
Office: WB #4
Tel: 671-735-2825
Email: tmortera@uguam.uog.edu

 


Adjunct Faculty

Ana Aguon

Marie Chong

Lyle Cummings

 

Degree Program Requirements