

Charter

Article I

Preamble

This Charter is designed to clarify the role of the staff and its relationship to the administration, to improve communication among all parts of the University, and to provide a more effective mechanism for the staff's execution of its responsibilities.

Article II

NAME: The governance body representing the non-academic and non administrative staff shall be titled the University of Guam Staff Council (hereinafter referred to as the Staff Council).

Article III

PURPOSE: The function of the Staff Council shall be to promote the interest and welfare of non-academic and non-administrative staff as allowed by law and in cooperation and coordination with the Administrative Offices of the University of Guam, and to provide support to the mission of the University of Guam. This purpose shall be accomplished by (a) providing a forum whereby staff at all job levels may discuss university-related issues of mutual concerns; (b) making recommendations on policies, procedures, activities, and other issues relating to staff interest; (c) fostering respect and cooperation among all members of the University of Guam community and promoting mutual communication among staff, administration, faculty, and students.

By Laws

Article I MEMBERSHIP

Section 1: The Staff Council shall consist of those employees who hold non-academic, non-administrative, full-time permanent classified, and unclassified (special description) positions.

Section 2: The Executive Committee of the Staff Council shall consist of eleven (11) elected representatives.

Section 3: Representatives shall serve a two year term effective the first day of October of an election year. Elected representatives must have held a full-time position at the University of Guam for at least two years immediately preceding the date of election.

Article II OFFICERS

Section 1: The Officers shall be the Chair, Vice Chair, and Secretary. These officers shall be elected by the members of the Executive Committee of the Staff Council.

Section 2: Any officer may be removed by cause by a fifty percent plus one vote of the Executive Committee of the Staff Council. Removal shall be accompanied by a documented justification.

Section 3: Duties of the Chair shall be to (a) preside at all meetings of the Staff Council; (b) nominate, in consultation with Officers, representatives to serve on University committees when Staff Council representative is requested.

Section 4: Duties of the Vice Chair shall be to perform the duties and exercise the powers of the Chair in his/her absence in accordance with these Bylaws.

Section 5: Duties of the Secretary shall be to (a) take and maintain a record of all business of the Staff Council; (b) distribute all minutes of Staff Council meetings.

Section 6: Duties of the immediate past Chair shall be to act as advisor to the Executive Committee of the Staff Council in a non-voting capacity.

Section 7: Duties of the Executive Committee of the Staff Council shall be to establish subcommittees as it deems appropriate to fulfill its responsibilities.

Article III MEETINGS

Section 1: The Executive Committee of the Staff Council regular meetings shall be open and held monthly; only Executive Committee members may vote.

Section 2: A general Staff Council meeting shall be held annually.

Section 3: Special meetings may be called by the Chair. At any time, members may call a meeting by petition of not less than fifty percent plus one signatures of the membership. Notice of such meetings shall be announced at least five (5) working days prior to said meeting.

Section 4: All meetings must have at least fifty percent plus one of the membership present to constitute a quorum.

Article IV ELECTIONS AND VOTING

Section 1: All non-academic, non-administrative, full-time permanent classified and unclassified (special description) staff are eligible to vote.

Section 2: All members of the Executive Committee of the Staff Council are eligible for re-election.

Section 3: Elections shall be held every two years in September.

Section 4: A special election shall be held to fill vacancies when members have three consecutive absences.

Article V COMMITTEES

Section 1: Each sub-committee shall consist of not less than three members, one of whom shall be appointed chairperson by the Chair of the Executive Committee of the Staff Council.

Section 2: Committee members shall serve as needed.

Section 3: Each Committee shall normally meet at least once a month and submit a report of its activities to the Staff Council Chair no later than September 30 of each year.

Section 4: Each committee shall submit their recommendations to the Executive Committee of the Staff Council for approval.

Article VI NONDISCRIMINATION CLAUSE

The Staff Council will in no way discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, national, or ethnic origin, gender, religion, disability, age, marital, or citizenship status.

Article VII AMENDMENTS

These Bylaws may be amended or repealed. New Bylaws may be adopted which have fifty percent plus one vote of the members present. The Chair shall call a special meeting of the Staff Council to address proposed amendments or actions. The special meeting shall be published to the membership no less than thirty (30) days prior to the meeting and petitioning parties shall be invited to attend and present. At that time a vote will be taken. Any member may submit a proposed amendment.

Article VIII RELEASE TIME

An employee may be granted release time during regular scheduled hours of work under normal circumstances to attend Staff Council meetings.

The University of Guam Staff Council is hereby chartered on this 12th day of April, 1996. Presented by: Written by Staff Council Executive Committee: John Angoco, Member Jul V. esse B. Rosario Velma Camacho, Membe Chair Staff Council Consel 6 Patti Ann Cruz, Member Vicki C. Camacho Richard L.G. Cruz, Member Vice Chair Lake S.N. Duenzs, Member Luke In Duana Staff Council Joseph M. Fernandez, Member Joseph Feurendy Rosita A. Hatfield, Member Rosita A. Harpeld ceived on Behelf of the University of Geam: Ana Krista Johnson, Member Rosita Lajan-Perez, Member Monica R. Artero Medina, Member Monica Partie Mahi President University of Guam Mariano J.C. Mesngon, Member Barbara T.M. Molarte, Member Acknowledged by: Rita Nauta, Member Mark V Heat Evelyn Paulino, Member John C. Quitano, Member Mr. Mark Heath Chair Jesse D. Reyes, Member Jesse D. Rey Administrative Council Diana R. Sablan, Member Dian R. Sallan J winsthe Dr. Tim Gfile Chair Annette T. Santos, Member Deborah L.. Toves, Secretary Deborah M. Dons Facalty Council Frances C. Villaverde, Member Jones C. Wellawerde Harold (Rick) Wood, Member Aarold R. Wood Raw Tenorio President Donna M. Yoshida, Alternate Secretary Dona M. your Student Government Association