Presidential Search Finalists to Meet with UOG Community

Presidential Search Finalists to Meet with UOG Community

Presidential Search Finalists to Meet with UOG Community




Dr. Thomas Krise
Dr. Thomas W. Krise
(Download Bio)
Dr. Bruce T. Murphy
Dr. Bruce T. Murphy
(Download Bio)
Dr. Hamid Shirvani
Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez
(Download Bio)
 Dr. Ronald Larsen
Dr. Ronald W. Larsen
(Download Bio)

Krise, Murphy, Enriquez, and Larsen Named Finalists

The University of Guam Presidential Search Committee (PSC) is announcing the names of the three finalists for UOG President for the first time since the search began in March.

PSC Chairman William Leon Guerrero says the three finalists will be invited to visit the campus later next month to meet with students, faculty, Interim President Dr. Robert Underwood, the Board of Regents (BOR), and other stakeholders. The dates of their impending visits will be announced at a later time. After the visits take place, the BOR will make an offer to the candidate of their choice.

The names of the finalists are: Dr. Thomas W. Krise, Dr. Bruce T. Murphy, Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez, and Dr. Ronald W. Larsen.

VIEW: Profiles, curriculum vitae, letters of intent for each of the finalists.

“The caliber of these finalists is at an extremely high level. The PSC is very impressed with their credentials and wide range of substantive experiences. We are excited with what they each potentially have to offer towards the continued progress and growth of the University. After we meet with all of the finalists in person, the BOR will be able to determine who would make the best fit for the campus,” says Leon Guerrero.

The PSC received 60 applicants by its April 27th deadline and narrowed the list to nine semifinalists. After extensive interviews with the nine semifinalists, the three individuals named above were selected to become finalists.

The UOG BOR appointed the PSC to coordinate the search for the new University President. The PSC consists of eight members and is chaired by William Leon Guerrero, who served as a past Chairperson for the BOR. Other members of the committee include: Elizabeth Gayle, Chairperson, BOR; Elvin Chiang, Treasurer, BOR; Antoinette Sanford, Immediate Past Chairperson, BOR; Christopher Felix, Member, BOR; Dr. Kate Moots, President, UOG Faculty Senate; Annie Fay Camacho, President, UOG Student Government Association; and Sophia Chu, General Manager, Hyatt Regency Guam.

After 10 highly successful years at the helm, President Robert Underwood retired on May 4. The BOR has asked President Underwood to stay on as Interim President until June 30, or when the Presidential Search is completed.

Dr. Richard A. Wueste of AGB Search assisted with the search process. AGB Search was founded by the Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB) in 2010 and is the only firm that specializes in all aspects of executive search exclusively for higher education institutions. Media inquiries may be directed to PSC Chairman William Leon Guerrero through PSC Staffer Norman Analista, via email) or 735-2991.

Presidential Search Finalists Forum Schedule

Forums with Finalists for University of Guam President
Dr. Thomas W. Krise - Monday, June 11
  • Faculty Forum: 11am-11:50 am, CLASS Lecture Hall
  • Alumni, Students and Staff Forum: 12pm-12:50 pm, CLASS Lecture Hall
Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez - Tuesday, June 12
  • Alumni, Students, and Staff: 12:30pm-1:20 pm, CLASS Lecture Hall
  • Faculty: 1:30pm-2:20pm, CLASS Lecture Hall
Dr. Bruce T. Murphy - Wednesday, June 13
  • Faculty: 11:30am-12:20pm, CLASS Lecture Hall
  • Alumni: Students, and Staff, 12:30pm-1:20pm, CLASS Lecture Hall
Dr. Ronald W. Larsen - Thursday, June 14
  • Faculty: 11am-11:50am, CLASS Lecture Hall
  • Alumni, Students, and Staff: 12pm-12:50 pm CLASS Lecture Hall


For those unable to attend, you will be able to view each forum through a YouTube live stream at:

The link will be active at the beginning of each forum. Recorded videos of each forum will also be uploaded to YouTube within 24 hours.

UPDATE: June 5, 2018 

Dr. Hamid Shirvani, one of the three finalists previously invited to visit the University of Guam next week has withdrawn from the presidential search and will therefore not be visiting the campus. The two previously announced finalists, Dr. Thomas W. Krise and Dr. Bruce T. Murphy are still a part of the search. In light of Shirvani’s withdrawal, the PSC has decided to invite two semifinalists: Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez and Dr. Ronald Larsen to become finalists. 

READ: Statement from PSC Chairman William Leon Guerrero (June 5, 2018).

READ MORE: Presidential Search Webpage