CLASS announces its 2020 Outstanding Award winners

CLASS announces its 2020 Outstanding Award winners

CLASS announces its 2020 Outstanding Award winners


The College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences has announced its 2020 awardees for its annual CLASS Outstanding Awards program.

The seven award recipients are nominated and then thoroughly reviewed and selected by an ad hoc committee of previous faculty and staff awardees.

The student awardees were selected based on excellence in academics and leadership as documented through extracurricular activities. Faculty member awardees were selected based on excellence in teaching, research, service, collegiality, and assessment. And the staff awardee was selected based on excellence in job performance, dependability, and punctuality.

The Assessment Award is given to an individual or group that completes and submits a timely, evidence-based assessment report that ultimately created a new learning environment or delivery method and provided actionable recommendations for change.

Congratulations to these CLASS Outstanding Award winners:


Incoming Undergraduate

Nolan Flores

Nolan Flores
Major: Political Science and CHamoru Studies

Early in his college career, Nolan has managed to maintain high academic standing while also contributing to the community in a variety of activities through his leadership, publications, and volunteerism. Nolan will receive a $100 cash award and a college medal.

Upper Level Undergraduate

Amber Uncangco

Amber Uncangco
Major: Sociology and Social Work


A graduating senior, Amber has demonstrated not only academic excellence since the start of her academic career, but has also shown excellence through her participation in numerous organizations and community outreach efforts. She is a published author and has presented her research at national and international platforms. Amber will receive a $100 cash award and a college medal.


Graduate Student

casiana reyes

Casiana Reyes
Major: Master of Science in Clinical Psychology


Casiana’s high GPA and leadership at Isa Psychological Center were factors in being selected for this award. What put her at the top of the list was her work and service during the COVID-19 pandemic. Casiana has continued to provide counseling services to people who are struggling to deal with the crisis. She has proven to be resilient, hard-working, intelligent, and ready to serve her community in her capacity and roles at Isa Psychological Center and the I Pinangon Suicide Prevention Program. She will receive a $100 cash prize and a college medal.



desiree aguon

Desiree Lynn Calvo Aguon
Administrative Assistant, CLASS Dean’s Office


Desiree joined CLASS in April 2019 from the Office of Admissions & Records. Since joining CLASS, Desiree has proven to be dependable, flexible, personable, and eager to participate in and learn new things. She takes initiative, plans accordingly, and makes every effort to provide administrative support to uphold our institution’s mission.


Teaching, Part-time Faculty

jacquelin gouniai

Dr. Jacquelin Meno Gouniai
Discipline: Psychology


Dr. Gouniai is an alumna of the University of Guam, where she completed her bachelor’s and master’s programs. She teaches part time in the psychology program and has participated in various extracurricular activities. She completed her doctoral studies in December 2019 and continues to contribute to student learning through teaching. She is a well-respected colleague and instructor.


Research, Full-time Faculty

yoshito kawabata

Dr. Yoshito Kawabata

Associate Professor of Psychology


Dr. Kawabata’s research endeavors are extensive, to include six peer-reviewed publications, 11 regional, national, and international conference presentations, and multiple research projects on Guam and the region since 2018. Beyond his own research endeavors, Dr. Kawabata has mentored many students, instilling in them a love of research, several of whom have moved on to graduate studies.



Carol Simpson-Warner, Chris Garcia, Teresita Perez, Jose Cruz, Royce Camacho, Holly Rustick, and Elizabeth Rutun

Composition Program Faculty, Division of English and Applied Linguistics


This group of faculty members has worked diligently and collaboratively to transform the undergraduate composition curriculum and are truly representative of a community of practice. They have unified the curriculum and instruction and have had success with identifying gaps in teaching and learning processes through assessment. Their assessment reports are thorough, provide valuable information, and identify strategies and plans to improve teaching and learning.