University of Guam to celebrate 70th anniversary in 2022

University of Guam to celebrate 70th anniversary in 2022

University of Guam to celebrate 70th anniversary in 2022


UOG Campus SignKickoff Invite

The University of Guam will be celebrating its Platinum Jubilee in 2022. The year-long observance will begin with a virtual kickoff ceremony at 3:30 p.m. on Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2021, on Zoom. The public is invited to view the ceremony and hear more about the celebrations ahead for the 70th anniversary year. 

“Over the course of 70 years, the University of Guam has, in some way, been a part of everyone’s lives in this region,” said UOG President Thomas W. Krise. “So we’re excited to share this milestone with the entire community.”

Established as the Territorial College of Guam in 1952 with 13 staff members and 200 students, the University of Guam now employs more than 500 full-time employees and serves a student population of more than 3,000. The university has conferred more than 19,000 degrees to alumni serving as professionals around the world and brings more than $14 million in federal research funding to the island and region every year. 

A 70th Anniversary Committee, composed of UOG stakeholders ranging from students to alumni, will organize and host a series of events throughout 2022.

Following the kickoff ceremony, a 70th anniversary webpage will be launched to keep the community apprised of activities and events.

Register to attend

Alumnae to serve as honorary co-chairpersons

Notable alumnae Annmarie Muna, owner of local insurance company AM Insurance, and Christine Baleto, who holds the local franchise for FROOTS and also serves as CFO for Docomo Pacific, have been tapped to serve as honorary co-chairpersons for the committee. 

“Having two of our successful Triton business alumnae at the helm is very special,” Krise said. “The committee is well-tailored to ensure the Triton spirit is infused into every part of the anniversary year celebrations.”


Christine Baleto

More about Christine

Annmarie Muna

More about Annmarie


  • David Okada, Chief Planning Officer
  • Norman Analista, Director of Development, Alumni Affairs, and Foundation Relations




Chair: Dr. Anita Borja Enriquez, Senior Vice President and Provost

This subcommittee will ensure that fundraising activities are planned, executed and poised to hit targets.

Budget & Finance:

Chair: Rachel Cubacub, Associate Budget and Administrative Process Officer

This subcommittee will record and track all related expenses to ensure that predetermined budgets are followed.

Awards Committee for President’s Medal and Distinguished Service Medal:

Chair: Cathleen Moore-Linn, Executive Director, Research Corporation of the University of Guam

This subcommittee will create award selection criteria and identify potential candidates. A ranking of candidates will be presented to the president for final selection.

Honorary Degrees:

Chair: Dr. Troy McVey, Vice Provost for Academic Excellence, Graduate Studies, and Online Learning

This subcommittee will identify potential candidates and work with pre-existing procedures for selecting Honorary Degree recipients. 

Marketing and Publicity:

Chair: Jonas Macapinlac, Chief Marketing & Communications Officer

This subcommittee will be responsible for all internal and external communications related to 70th anniversary celebrations.

Event Logistics and Planning:

Chair: Mark Mendiola, Director, Residence Halls

This subcommittee will take the lead in the planning and execution of physical setup requirements of all events. 

Alumni Relations:
Chair: Norm Analista, Director of Development, Alumni Affairs, and Foundation Relations

This subcommittee will be responsible for engaging with alumni to support celebration activities.

Attendee Engagement:


  • Sallie McDonald, Certified Job, Career Development and Transition Coach
  • Kyona Rivera, Senator, 60th UOG Student Government Association
  • Daena Mansapit, Associate Director, UOG Endowment Foundation

This subcommittee will be responsible for enhancing the attendee experience and assessing hospitality requirements for each event. 

COVID-19 Safety:

Chair: Alfred Garrido, Safety Administrator

This subcommittee will be responsible for ensuring that safety protocols are followed for every in-person event.


Chair: Glenn Leon Guerrero, Director, Facilities Management and Services

This subcommittee will oversee renovation projects.