22nd Pacific History Association Biennial Conference 2016

PHA Conference: History of PHA

22nd Pacific History Association Biennial Conference 2016



University of Guam 


The Pacific History Association promotes research in and the teaching of Pacific History. Established in 1980 at a conference in Martindale Hall, South Australia, the association holds biennial conferences around the Pacific.
The PHA's current Committee includes:
President: Associate Professor Jacqueline Leckie of Otago University, New Zealand
Vice-Presidents: Dr. Adrian Muckle of Victoria University of Wellington and Dr. Pei-yi Guo of the Taiwan Society for Pacific Studies
Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Teresia Teaiwa of Victoria University of Wellington
Web Manager: Dr. Kirstie Close-Barry, Deakin University, Australia
Newsletter Editor: Dr. Max Quanchi of the University of the South Pacific. 
Executive Committee Members are: 
Chris Ballard, Australian National University 
Judith Bennett, University of Otago 
Ian Conrich, University of Southern Australia
Robert Dewey, Depauw University
Helen Gardner, Deakin University 
Anne Perez Hattori, University of Guam 
Kerri Inglis, University of Hawai'i-Hilo
Sam Karis, University of Goroka 
August Kituai, University of Papua New Guinea 
Louise Mataia, National University of Samoa/Victoria University of Wellington
Clive Moore, University of Queensland 
Serge Tcherkezoff, CREDO, France
Morgan Tuimaleali'ifano, University of the South Pacific

Link to official PHA website:  http://www.pacifichistoryassociation.net

Past PHA Conferences

1    1979                         Martindale Hall, SA, Australia
2    1980                                     Noosa, Qld, Australia
3    1981                              Katoomba, NSW, Australia 
4    1984                                  Sorrento, Vic, Australia
5    1985                                                        Suva, Fiji 
6    1987                                        Canberra, Australia 
7    1989                                         Brisbane, Australia 
8    1990                                           Tamuning, Guam 
9    1992                            Christchurch, New Zealand 
10    1994                                            Tarawa, Kiribati 
11    1996                                                Hilo, Hawai`i 
12    1998                             Honiara, Solomon Islands 
13    2000                                      Canberra, Australia 
14                                                                     missed
15    2002                                                 Apia, Samoa 
16    2004                                Noumea, New Caledona 
17    2006                               Dunedin, New Zealand    
18    2008                                                 Apia, Samoa
19    2010                           Goroka, Papua New Guinea 
20    2012                              Wellington, New Zealand 
21    2014                          Taipei and Taitung, Taiwan

Latest News

Abstract deadline: Dec. 31, 2015

Early Registration deadline:Feb. 29, 2016
Early Registration Fee:US$200 (US$100 for students)

Late Registration: March 1 – May 5, 2016
Late Registration Fee:US$250 ($125 for students)


Contact info:




  • Anne Perez Hattori, Ph.D., History and Chamorro Studies
  • James Perez Viernes, Ph.D., Chamorro Studies

Planning Committee Members:

  • Michael Clement, Ph.D., Associate Professor, History
  • Mary Cruz, Ph.D., Asst. Professor, Political Science
  • Nicholas Goetzfridt, Ph.D., Professor, Micronesian Studies
  • Sharleen Santos-Bamba, Ph.D., Associate Professor, English and Chamorro Studies
  • Elyssa Santos, B.A., History
  • Jessica Urbano, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Dean's Office
  • Velma Yamashita, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Art
  • Alden Paul Cabero, Teaching Assistant, UOG History
  • Jeff Umayam, CLASS Humanities Division