> UOG Events home page > UOG News & Announcements home page > Back to Student Spotlights

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The 15th Faculty Senate 2015-2016

Welcome to the 15th Faculty Senate Webpage!

Fall 2015 / Spring 2016 Session Schedule

The Faculty Senate meets in Room 262 in the Jesus and Eugenia School of Business and Public Administration Building from 2:00 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. on Thursdays of each month during the Academic Year.

Download the session schedule 


15th Faculty Senate - Standing Committee Member Directory

  • Senate Executive Committee (SEC)
  • Standing Committee on Institutional Excellence (SCIE)
  • Standing Committee on Faculty Excellence (SCFE)
  • Standing Committee on Evaluation (SCE)
  • Standing Committee on University Budget and Planning (SCUBP)

Academic Curricula Review Committee Member Directory

  • Undergraduate Curricula Review Committee (UCRC)
  • Graduate Curricula Review Committee (GCRC)
  • General Education Review Committee (GERC)

University Travel Grant and United Travel Endowment

For further information you may contact:

Dr. Mohammad Golabi
Chair, Standing Committee on Faculty Excellence
Tel:  (671) 735-2134, Email: mgolabi@uguam.uog.edu

Ms. Jennina J.G. Dee
Personnel Specialist I
Human Resources Office
Tel: (671)735-2355 Fax: (671)734-6005
Email: jdee@triton.uog.edu


The Mission of the UOG Faculty Senate

The mission of the University of Guam Faculty Senate is to be the vehicle by which the Faculty exercises its responsibility for the academic leadership of the university. Specificially, the Faculty Senate.

  • Protects and promotes the fundamental principles of the academy, including academic freedom and institutional integrity, institutional and individual autonomy, and shared academic governance;
  • Provides the Faculty with a unified, substantial, and independent voice in matters of educational programs and other matters that relate to their areas of responsibility and expertise;
  • Empowers and protects the prerogatives of the Academic Committees and individual members of the Faculty to discharge their responsibilities for maintaining the educational purpose and character of the university and the quality of its academic programs;
  • Promotes an environment favorable to the professional activity and development of the Faculty, both as individuls and as a body;
  • Discharges other specific responsibilities set forth in the Bylaws of the University of Guam Faculty Senate.


The Palulap Medallion Award is a prestigious award presented by the Faculty Senate of the University of Guam to a member of the community of Guam who has made extraordinary contributions to the protection and promotion of the fundamental principles of the academy for the University of Guam, including:

  1. academic freedom,
  2. institutional integrity,
  3. institutional and individual autonomy, and
  4. shared academic governance.

The award includes a medallion and plaque, each engraved with a figure of Palulap, the legendary Micronesian navigator whose great wisdom and skill continue to inspire youthful navigators today. It envisions the University as a flying proa being guided towards landfall by a navigator skilled and wise in the arts of academic governance. The award also includes a citation that refers to the recipient by name and summarizes the extraordinary contributions of the recipient.

Nominations are solicited annually, but the award is granted only when the case presented with the nomination unequivocally reflects an extraordinary contribution. Any number of nominations may be made in any one year, but no more than two awards may be granted in any year. Nominees who are not selected may be re-nominated for consideration in the subsequent cycles. Subsequent nominations must be appropriately updated and justified each time they are submitted. The award may be granted posthumously. It is announced and presented by the Senate at either the Fall or Spring Faculty Convocation.

The deadline for submission of nominations for this call is 5:00 PM Monday, 16 February 2015.  Click here https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B_4sNIgsmFF-ZzZma0pfeU13MW8/view?usp=sharing  for eligibility criteria and submission information.

For more information please contact the Faculty Senate Office at Ext. 2998 or oranae@uguam.uog.edu.